Get your free website from Spanglefish
30 September 2013
Neath and its Mayors

About Neath and its Mayors

Neath has two Mayors - are you confused?

One Mayor covers the whole of Neath Port Talbot County Borough Council, that's currently Cllr Marian Lewis (left) while the other is Cllr Mark Fisher (right) who is the Mayor of Neath Town Council.



Formation: Neath Town Council was established in 1974 under the Local Government Act 1972 as the successor authority to the former Neath Borough Council, thus continuing the provision established under the 1935 Municipal Corporations Act for a “Town Council”.  Resulting from the Neath (Communities) Order 1982, which became operational on the 1st of April 1983, changes were made in local government boundaries enabling Briton Ferry, previously serviced by Neath Community Council, to  form a Community Council in its own right.

On the 5th March 1992 Neath Community Council resolved to adopt the status of Neath Town Council and as a consequence the Chairman was entitled to become known as Town Mayor


The Council comprises of eight wards with eighteen Councillors representing a population of approximately 18,600.  The Council has responsibility for Neath Community Cafe; Neath Community and IT Centre; Cimla Community Centre; Melyncrythan Community Centre; the Old Town Hall; bus shelters; roadside seats; allotments; footpaths/bridleways; Neath Castle and gardens and Charities.

The council has eight wards: Castle Ward, Penrhiwtyn Ward, Mount Pleasant Ward, Melyncrythan Ward, Gnoll Ward, Llantwit Ward, Cefn Saeson Ward and Crynallt Ward.

The revenue for Neath Town Council is by a precept from the council tax that every household pays.  Community councillors do not get allowances or expenses like NPT CBC councillors.

This week our Mike Davies went to Neath Town Hall and met Mayor Cllr Mark Fisher at a book presentation with Neath Antiquarians - see Mike's column in the menu.

Link to Neath Town Council website:


Click for Map
site map | cookie policy | privacy policy