Login
Get your free website from Spanglefish

The programme for 2020 is below. Check back regularly in case any dates or times change.

 

CAG Programme of Events for 2020

*Members events are asterixed

*Fri 24th January - Members Dark Skies Event - Winter Observing Opportunities, Misc Space News & "Nucleosynthesis of the Chemical Elements in Massive Stars" (G Mackie)

*Fri 21st February - Members Dark Skies Event - "Mars Colonisation" (C Wilhelm)
Visiting the Royal Observatory Greenwich (G Mackie)

Sat 22nd February - AGM (time and venue tbc)

Caithness Science Festival Events

Fri 13th March - "What has space ever done for us? A guide to astronomy and space exploration in 8 technologies” - M Vidmar (ROE)
Sat 14th March - Family activities then "What are they really doing up there?" - M Vidmar (ROE) - (time and venue tbc)
Sat 21st March - Science Festival Family Fun Day (noon-4.30pm Wick High School)

*Fri 27th March -  Observing Moon & Venus; Astrophotography Workshop
*Sat 28th - Members Observing / Photography Event at Dunnet Head Lighthouse

Fri 24th April - "Weird Stars" - P Macrae (HAS)

May - Observing Transient Events - D Buczynski

*Fri 12th June - Members Event

Sat 5th September - CAG at the Orkney International Science Festival

Fri 18th September - "Celebrating 30 Years of the Hubble Space Telescope" - various CAG members

Fri 9th October - Members event

Fri 13th November - "Mary Somerville and Williamina Paton Fleming" (C Whittaker); "Practical Astronomy through the Ages" (M Gibson)

*Fri 11th - Members Meteors & Mince Pies Event​​; "Far Side of the Moon" (Prof K Nicholson)

​​

More details for each event will be posted in due course on the news page of this website. All events are at 7pm in the Castlehill Heritage Centre, Castletown unless stated otherwise.

 

Astronomical Events to Observe

There are also the following astronomical events that weather permitting members may wish to view. If the weather looks favourable nearer the time of each, arrangements might be made for members to meet up and observe the event. Members should check their emails nearer the time for details.

Jan 10th (Fri) - Penumbral lunar eclipse (evening)
Feb 11th (Tues) - Asteroidal Occultation (Vesta)
Aug 11th (Tues) - Perseids
Dec 20th (Sun) - Jupiter/Saturn conjunction at sunset

Click for Map
site map | cookie policy | privacy policy | accessibility statement