Login
Get your free website from Spanglefish

The programme for the first half of 2019 is below. Check back at a later date for details on events later in the year.

 

CAG Programme of Events for 2019

Members events are asterixed

Sat 12th January - Public Moonwatch Event - Thurso Riverside (opposite Scout Hall) @ 7pm (weather permitting)

*Fri 25th January - Members Dark Skies Event​​ - Space News Update & “Adventures in Amateur Astronomy – 10 Years as Chairman of CAG” (Gordon Mackie)​ & observing session

Sat 16th February - Public Moonwatch Event - Wick High School @ 7pm (weather permitting)

Sat 23rd February - AGM - 11am at Pentland Hotel, Thurso​

*Fri 1st March - Members Dark Skies Event​​​ - "Open source software for amateur astronomers" (Christian Wilhelm) & observing session

Fri 15th March - "Lunar Tour" by Eric Walker / Lunar Observing (part of Caithness Science Festival)​​​

Sat 16th March - Short talks "Peat Bog Iron and Martian Soils" (Prof Keith Nicholson)​ & "Lunar Basics" (Gordon Mackie) with Lunar Observing and a moonlit walk to the observation tower (weather permitting)​. Event venue is RSPB Field Centre, Forsinard.

Sat 23rd March - Caithness Science Festival Family Day​​​ (Wick High School)

*Fri 29th March - Members Event​​​

Fri 12th April - Moonwatch / Public Talks​ - Apollo Missions to the Moon (Carole Whittaker) & The Apollo Moon Landings - Debunking the Hoax Conspiracy Theory (Mark Gibson)

Tues 14th May - "In search of a giant impact crater in Scotland" - talk about the Lairg Asteroid Impact Event by Dr Mike Simms​, National Museums Northern Ireland​​. Pentland Hotel, Thurso (doors open 7pm for 7.30pm start)

*Fri 14th June - Observing and Imaging Equipment Evening (open to non-members who book a place in advance)

​​

More details for each event will be posted in due course on the news page of this website. All events are at 7pm in the Castlehill Heritage Centre, Castletown unless stated otherwise.

 

Astronomical Events to Observe

There are also the following astronomical events that weather permitting members may wish to view. If the weather looks favourable nearer the time of each, arrangements might be made for members to meet up and observe the event. Members should check their emails nearer the time for details.

*Mon 21st Jan - Members Observing/Photo Opportunity - Total Lunar Eclipse before sunrise

*Tue 16th July - Members Observing/Photo Opportunity - Partial Eclipse at Sunset/Moonrise

*Mon 11th November - Members Observing/Photo Opportunity - Transit of Mercury (approx noon-4pm)​​




Click for Map
site map | cookie policy | privacy policy