Neath Tramway Memories
The tramway was powered by town gas and ran for just over 4 miles from Briton Ferry to Skewen
Financial difficulties in the First World War resulted in Neath Corporation taking direct control, and it was closed in the face of motor bus competition in 1920. See HISTORY in menu for more details.
Tramcar number 1 is preserved at the Cefn Coed Colliery Museum near Neath.
The museum is the proud home of the last surviving gas tram from the town and one of the only restored examples in the world! The Neath gas tram ran from 1875 until 1920, a victim of modernisation it was abandoned in favour of motor buses and the old tram cars were sold off. This fine example was recovered from a local garden in the 1980s where it was being used as a garden shed! Visit the museum to discover its fascinating story and sit up on the top deck!
A refirbished tram can be be seen at Cefn Coed Colliery Museum .at Crynant. It was discovered in a garden after which it was restored by a team of craft apprentices.
A driver and conductor aboard a working tram - cira 1900
A tram at Skewen
The administrators of this website are not responsible for the advertisements that are put on by the hosting service and do not endorse them in any way whatsoever.
Our hosting service is in no way connected with the content of this website.
No responsibility is accepted for any errors, omissions or the content of any third party website linked with this one.
Format and design are copyright and all rights are reserved - March 2016.