The Pictish rider on our logo comes from the 8th century cross on the right
In cooperation with the Isle of Eigg Heritage Trust, Eigg History Society has been involved in a variety of projects to make the island’s history accessible to all. Amongst these are the Eigg Photographic Archive, the Cleadale Crofting Museum, and the Kildonnan Archeology project.
Comunn Eachdraidh Eige was set up in 1999, and has now acquired charitable status. Membership is open to all, so please join to support our work. (For details, please go to the membership page),
The Society also organises regular guided walks on the island, invites guest speakers on a variety of topics and publishes a yearly newsletter.
Newest on the website:
- Galleries: places and work: discover a selection from our photo archive
- Discover the Eigg MacPhersons
- At long last a way forward for Clanranald pier!
- Archive photographs of Eigg in the 1960's kindly donated by former pupils of the Newscastle Royal Grammar School.
- Prof Hudson's Eigg recollections from 1958 to now.
- Victorian Eigg by Eigg Primary school pupil, Clyde Wallace
- The mystery of the Eigg Runic Stone.
- the mystery of the bones recovered from the Massacre Cave: following the discovery of human remains in the cave, discover what radiocarbon dating and osteological analyis tells us.
Get in touch through our guest book page.
Through this website, we hope that we can get news of all the people who are and have been associated with Eigg, in the UK and overseas. We welcome their stories and any photograph that can contribute to our archive collection. Please get in touch through our guestbook page.